The Four Noble Truths & The Eightfold Noble Path

The Four Noble Truths

  1. The truth of suffering. (The unsatisfactory nature of all phenomena.)
  2. The truth of the origin of suffering. (Craving for sense pleasures, for continued existence, for becoming, for non-existence, for self-annihilation.)
  3. The truth of the cessation of suffering. (Freedom from craving).
  4. The Eightfold Noble Path (Leading to the cessation of suffering) are listed below and fall into three categories:
  1. Right View or Understanding (Seeing things as they are)
  2. Right Thought or Aspiration (Thoughts of renunciation, goodwill and compassion)
  1. Right Speech (No lying, slander, harsh words or gossip)
  2. Right Action (No killing, stealing, or sexual misconduct)
  3. Right Livelihood (Not dealing in killing or intoxicants)
  1. Right Effort (Mental energy or effort: to abandon unwholesome thoughts that have arisen; to prevent unwholesome thoughts from arising; to develop wholesome thoughts; to maintain meditation)
  2. Right Mindfulness (Complete awareness and clear comprehension of: the body; feelings; mind; and mind objects). This is also known as The Four Foundations of Mindfulness described by Buddha in the Satipatthana Sutta.
  3. Right Meditation (Various forms of Buddhist meditation)